ICT Resources For Secondary Art Teachers

One of my passions as a teacher is integrating highly engaging ICT’s for learning. I have developed several resources online for various reasons, within both a visual art context as well as a mathematics context. I love making these and thought that I would share some with you. . .

1. Year 11 Visual Art Site

I developed this site to provide an online space where students could watch painting tutorials (which were taught in class), research artists who had used the techniques and explore other ways to manipulate the materials.

Site 1

2. Social Commentary Web Quest

Web Quests are brilliant! They promote social, inquiry-based learning. For a teacher, they are relatively each resource to create and are highly valuable! This is one that I have created.

Site 2

3. Blog (Alternate Visual Arts Journal)

This is a simple sample blog I created to show my kids how to use this tool to demonstrate their process work and reflections while making a work.

Site 3

I hope they are useful! To make them, I have utilised Wix, Quest Garden and BlogSpot – great sites for teachers!

Of course, there are numerous theoretical reasons for incorporating ICT’s – education for the 21st century learner, learning styles (and opportunities to demonstrate learning in a variety of ways), inquiry-based Learning (Dewey) as well as government requirements (Australian Curriculum and Smart Classrooms). However I see this incorporation as an opportunity for creativity – for the student and the teacher. It can be a lot of fun and really rewarding!

Leave a comment